We're really excited about the new web editor. The capability it enables offers a number of benefits over your old forms. That said, is a change in your form creation and modification workflow. In addition, there are some things to be aware of when you upgrade.

Workflow — the way you create and edit forms has changed

  • No more treatment note template editing
  • Edit directly in our web portal

No more treatment note template editing

No longer will you edit treatment note templates in Cliniko, then add or refresh sections on each individual iPad. Tapping on a form will no longer pop up a half-editor, allowing you to turn questions on or off, change welcome text, change your final terms, or manage your signatures.

Edit directly in our web portal

Instead, you'll create new forms and edit existing forms directly by signing into our web portal. Any changes you publish will be pushed out to all your iPads immediately, without the need refresh anything manually on each device.

Things to be aware of

  • You'll need to know how to sign into our portal to make changes
  • Your forms will be converted after you update
  • Because of this, you may have duplicates
  • Check your forms with a test appointment

You'll need to know how to sign into our portal to make changes

Changing forms works best on a Mac or PC — the larger screen real-estate, and physical keyboard make changing and adding text to your forms much easier.

The easiest way to sign in to the portal is to have the iPad handy — using it to generate a 6-digit code which will sign you in.

Your forms will be converted after you update

The way our forms are stored "under the hood" has changed. This was done to allow us to enable advanced functionality, such as visibility logic / follow-up questions.

Because of this, we have to send your forms to our portal from each iPad, let the portal convert the forms to our new format, then send back all forms in your account to the iPad.

This happens on every iPad you update, and will be fairly instantaneous — you shouldn't really notice it happening.

Because of this, you may have duplicates

We made the decision to send each form on every one of your iPads the first time they're updated — that's to ensure we don't lose any of your changes. For example:

  1. Imagine if you had a consent form treatment note template in Cliniko.
  2. You added this consent form to one of your iPads, and customised the welcome text.
  3. You then added the consent form to another one of your iPads, and customised the welcome text in a different way, and decided to switch off the selfie question.
  4. When you update these iPads, both versions of this same consent form will make it to your account.

Here's what it looks like to have some duplicates on the iPad:

And here's what it looks like in the portal:

If you end up with duplicates, you can archive the version(s) you don't want to appear on any of your iPad(s).

Check your forms with a test appointment

Prior to version 3 of the app, when you tapped on a form on your iPad, you were presented with a screen that looked like this:

You would then be able to check that it had the wording you wanted, had the right questions enabled, and had the correct signatures.

This is no longer possible. In fact, using the new editor, you'll instead see a notice to open the new web form editor to change a form, if you tap on it:

So, if you'd like to see what's in your form before you give it to a patient, we highly recommend creating a test patient and appointment, letting the appointment sync with Finger-Ink, then using that appointment to test the form yourself, just like a patient would.

If you'd just like to see the content of the form at a glance, then signing into the web form editor and looking at your form is the best option (note: you can use the "generate sign-in code" button in the notification that comes up when you tap on a form to start the sign-in process).

Did this answer your question?