Since our version 5 update, web form responses have gained the ability to be automatically processed, rather than requiring a manual processing step. Sometimes, however, these responses cannot be processed automatically.

When that happens, you'll be notified of the forms requiring action, and will need to process them manually.

How a form gets into the Inbox

When a form is filled out online by one of your patients, it gets sent to your Inbox in the Finger-Ink Portal. If the form can be processed automatically, and you have automatic processing enabled, it is. If it fails to be processed automatically, or cannot be, then it stays in the inbox:

This web page is "live" in that it is constantly checking for new forms to come in. When there are new forms, there will be a notice at the top with an option to refresh the page:

Clicking "load new responses" will refresh the page and show any new forms that have come in.

How patient matches are determined

Even before we attempt automatic processing, we query Cliniko to figure out if there are any patients that might "match" the person that filled out the form.

We try to find matching patients based on

  • first name

  • last name

  • email address

  • date of birth

☝️ If no matches are found, it doesn't necessarily mean that the person that filled a form is a new patient. It might mean that their entered information on the form doesn't match what you have on file for them. If that's the case, a new patient may have been created automatically. This should be reversed from the Finger-Ink Portal, then manually processed to update an existing patient.

You can see a list of matches in the form response itself. We highlight when things match, and when they don't:

Creating a new patient

The button to create a new patient from a response is the one in the bottom row, on the right.

New in version 5, you can choose which parts of the workflow to process on a per-response basis:

In the above example, I decide not to create the treatment note for this response:

The "NOT DEFAULT" text that comes up next to the treatment note row indicates that my chosen action is different than the default workflow setting on the form itself.

Updating an existing patient

To update an existing patient, you just need to tick the button next to the appropriate patient, select the desired workflow actions, then confirm:

In the above example, I decided to only send through the PDF, rather than also update the patient's details.

Did this answer your question?